Top 10: New Releases of 2018

One of the exciting parts of every new year (for me at least) is looking through all the great new books being released that year. And let me just tell you, 2018 is going to be a year of amazing books! So many amazing books, in fact, that there was no way I could narrow it down to my usual top 5. It would’ve been an impossible task, trust me. With that said, check out my picks for top 10 new releases of 2018!

Top 10: New Releases of 2018 | rachelbrittain.com

 

The Boat People by Sharon Bala

Top 10: New Releases of 2018 | rachelbrittain.comThis is one of a few books on this list that I was able to read an advanced copy of, and let me just tell you it is definitely one that should be on your to-read list for 2018.

Tragic, heart-wrenching, honest. The Boat People tells the story of a group of Tamil refugees fleeing the violence of their homeland in search of a chance for peace and safety in Canada. Unfortunately, things aren’t quite that simple, and Canada doesn’t exactly welcome them with open arms.

It’s such an excellent book–perfect for fans of realistic fiction. If you’re just dying to know more, then check out my  full review of the book.

January 9, 2018 (Doubleday)

 

Love, Hate and Other Filters by Samira Ahmed

Top 10: New Releases of 2018 | rachelbrittain.com

A YA book about a Muslim teen who is an aspiring filmmaker that deals with both teen life, cultural divides, and Islamophobia? Uh, yes please!

Maya Aziz is mostly worried about whether she can convince her parents to allow her to go to film school in New York, her friends, the usual things a high schooler should be worrying about. But then a terrorist who shares Maya’s last name casts a dark shadow over Maya’s life and town. Suddenly, the friends and neighbors she’s known all her life are suspicious of the only Muslim family in town. Faced with their bigotry, fear, and hatred, Maya will have to fight to stay true to herself and figure out where she really belongs.

January 16 (Soho Teen)

 

The Beauty That Remains by Ashley Woodfolk

Top 10: New Releases of 2018 | rachelbrittain.comI read an e-galley of this book last year, and, you guys, it is so, so good. It’s heartbreaking and lovely and hopeful and honest and everything else a YA book dealing with grief should be. Perfect for fans of John Green, Adam Silvera, and Becky Albertalli. I cried; I fell in love with the characters; I didn’t want the story to end.

The Beauty That Remains tells the story of three teens struggling to figure out how to keep going after tragedy. Autumn, whose best friend died in a car crash  almost a week ago and hasn’t been able to cry since; Logan, whose ex-boyfriend commited suicide and doesn’t know how to move on from a boy who broke his heart but he maybe still loves; and Shay, whose twin sister died from Leukemia almost a year ago and whose increasingly debilitating panic attacks threaten to tear her apart from her family and friends. Autumn, Logan, and Shay were all once connected through music. But in the face of such terrible tragedy, will music be enough to bring them back together again?

Read my full review here. You’re just going to love it, trust me.

March 6th, 2018 (Delacorte Press)

 

The Witch Doesn’t Burn in This One by Amanda Lovelace

Top 10: New Releases of 2018 | rachelbrittain.com

Bet you weren’t expecting to see a book of poetry on this list. Well, surprise! I actually enjoy the occasional poem, and while I don’t often read collections of poetry, Amanda Lovelace’s first collection, The Princess Saves Herself in This One, just spoke to me. I loved her style and all the feminist, girl-power undertones. I’m expecting to find a lot of the same in The Witch Doesn’t Burn in This One. (And–one a side note–what a great title, am I right?)

March 6th, 2018 (Andrews McMeel Publishing)

 

Leah on the Offbeat by Becky Albertalli

Top 10: New Releases of 2018 | rachelbrittain.comI adored Simon Vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda so you can imagine how excited I am that Becky Albertalli is returning to those characters, but this time from the perspective of Leah, Simon’s best friend.

The cover is gorgeous, the story sounds awesome, I love Becky Albertalli, and if you think I haven’t already pre-ordered this one then you clearly don’t know me very well.

April 24, 2018 (Balzer + Bray)

 

 

 

On the Come Up by Angie Thomas

There isn’t a whole lot of information out there yet about Angie Thomas’ second novel, except that it’s about a girl from Garden Heights whose dreams of becoming a rapper become a reality. Considering Thomas’ has a background as a rapper herself and considering how amazing The Hate U Give was, that’s pretty much all I need to know to get excited about On the Come Up. This is definitely one I’m excited to get my hands on.

May 1, 2018 (Balzer + Bray)

 

My Plain Jane by Cynthia Hand, Jodi Meadows, and Brodi Ashton

Top 10: New Releases of 2018 | rachelbrittain.com

What could possibly be more fun than a magical alternate history with snarky narrators, lovable protagonists, and all sorts of dangerous hijinks? Not much that I can think of, and in this companion novel to My Lady Jane Hand, Ashton, and Meadows are going to add Jane Eyre and supernatural mysteries to the mix!

I loved My Lady Jane–which I have often compared to the humor found in The Princess Bride–and I’m sure My Plain Jane is going to deliver an equally fun and hilarious journey. Their sass game is just so strong!

June 26, 2018 (HarperTeen)

 

Spinning Silver by Naomi Novik

Top 10: New Releases of 2018 | rachelbrittain.comLook, I love fairy tale retellings–particularly ones that draw on non-European fairy tales–and I am so excited to see Naomi Novik taking on a new story in Spinning! Uprooted was such a beautiful book, and I can’t wait to see what Novik will do with the tale of Rumpelstiltskin.

July 10, 2018 (Del Rey)

 

 

 

 

Record of a Spaceborn Few by Becky Chambers

Top 10: New Releases of 2018 | rachelbrittain.com

Raise your hand if you’re obsessed with sci-fi. ME, ME, ME! If you love sci-fi and you haven’t already read the masterpiece of space faring literature that is the Wayfarers series, then I don’t even know what you’re doing still reading this post. Go, go now! This list will still be here when you’re done!

Really, though, Wayfarers is one of the most inventive and inclusive science fiction stories I have ever read. It really is sci-fi meant for everyone! (Something I think anyone who is a fan of the genre can admit, isn’t always the case…) The writing is lovely and the worldbuilding is phenomenal– I’m particularly fascinated by Chambers’ thoughtful creation of alien life and cultures that genuinely look nothing like ours from a biological or sociocultural view. The science is also good, but honestly, what I really love is that at the heart of every story is the characters.

It’s just really, really good sci-fi, and I am (not so patiently) awaiting the release of the third book.

July 24, 2018 (Harper Voyager)

 

What If It’s Us by Adam Silvera and Becky Albertalli

If you’ve been around here pretty much any time at all, you probably know of my deep and abiding love for Adam Silvera and Becky Albertalli. I will read (and undoubtedly love) anything they write. So, the fact that they’re teaming up for the first time to write a book together? Basically, a dream come true.

There isn’t a lot of detail about the plot just yet, except that it’s about two boys that the universe seems determined to throw together. Honestly, though, what more do you need to know besides the fact that it’s being co-written by these two incredibly talented YA authors. I just want to read it already! *grabby hands*

October 9, 2018 (Harper Teen)

 

 

You know me. You know even stretching my Top 5 into a Top 10 probably isn’t enough, so…

Runner Ups:

Reign of the Fallen by Sarah Glenn Marsh

Necromancy, zombies, bisexual protagonist? Yes, please!

January 23, 2018 (Razorbill)

The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert

An in-fiction feminist version of LOTR and an adventure through the dead author’s estate to solve a mystery? Sounds like my kind of book.

January 30, 2018 (Flatiron Books)

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

Fantasy + girls with powers + rogue princesses. Enough said.

March 6, 2018 (Henry Holt and Co.)

Puddin’ by Julie Murphy

A sort-of follow up to Julie Murphy’s Dumplin’, which was so cute and fat-positive!

May 8, 2018 (Bazer + Bray)

From Twinkle, With Love by Sandhya Menon

*squee* a new book from the author of When Dimple Met Rishi. Should be equally cute and feel-good!

May 22, 2018 (Simon Pulse)

An Absolutely Remarkable Thing by Hank Green

YA sci-fi about internet fame and mysterious robot statues? Yep, that sounds right up my alley.

TBA 2018 (Dutton)

 

Want to put more great 2018 releases on your radar? Check out my list of 2018 YA books to add to your TBR and this list of 2018 LGBTQ reads my fellow Rioters and I are most excited for. Check them out, because honestly friends, I’m just way too excited about way too many books coming out this year for me to fit all of them onto any one list.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *